top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHusain Rizvi

Games for Justice 2021: Weeks 1 & 2 Reflections

Our first two weeks of the full program have finished, and so we chose to take some time to reflect on how things have been going so far. To recap, we’ve been able to come together as a group in learning:

  • Basic Game Design Software

  • Games + Social Justice intersections and issues

  • Identity Development through Affinities, Family Groups

  • and Transformative Justice, Collective Care, and Intro to Oppressions trainings

I’ve compiled our reflections below, and hope to keep posting our progress through the summer to see how we’ve grown!

_________________________________________________________________________


Destiny

The first week I was kind of nervous because it’s a new group of people to work with but the ice breakers made me less nervous. In week two creating game ideas was really fun. I like this being online too because it helps me to be able to step away when I need to so I can come back and focus.


Faria

The past two weeks have been so fun and amazing. Getting to know everyone in this program was really nice and I feel as though we all connected pretty fast. I loved working with different game designing software as well as art design software. I also enjoyed talking about and discussing several different social justice issues with this community and expanding my knowledge. I look forward to making our video game in the next few weeks and presenting it!


Hanan

I’ve honestly enjoyed everything we’ve been doing these past 2 weeks. I love the games we played and the new gaming resources you guys shared with us. I’m looking forward to using these resources and the things I've learned to create my own games with my game group!


I’ve also gotten the chance to meet a great group of people whom i've learned so much about in the last 2 weeks. I can't wait to see what we are able to create by the end of this program!


Husain

It feels like it’s been so long since staff training, and I actually can’t believe that we already have youth groups for the game projects!

Some of my highlights were community building and our goofy check-in questions, and seeing people smile and have fun with each other. I think also, I have really enjoyed seeing everyone step into their organizing power and their power for advocating! I have big hopes for the teams and I really hope we will be able to support them in whatever skills they want to learn and make them feel cared for in their creative journeys. I also hope that staff will feel like we are able to develop and care for each other as well.

Personally, I’m also looking forward to being able to take a bit more of a breather and step back and plan more for the future rather than the day-to-day like I have been. I really appreciate everyone’s patience with me, and I hope we can just get to know each other better over the program. I think I am looking forward to slowing things down so that we can all dive deeper into the things we want to do, and I am looking forward to future affinities and hoping we can run affinities for different identities to let people reflect on the intersectional nature of who they are (i.e. in terms of gender, sexuality, ability).


Ishika

I’ve loved getting to meet and know the youth these past two weeks! I’ve loved hearing everyone’s game ideas and thoughts/brainstorms on some really complex topics, which I hope has really helped everyone in the community learn collectively. Hearing everyone’s different answers to all the check-in questions has also been a highlight!


I’m very excited about the project groups being formed today. I’m looking forward to seeing how the games progress and getting the ideas more fleshed out and seeing all the creativity involved in the process in the coming weeks!


Kiara

Highlights were staff training and getting to know the amazing team I am working with. Next highlight was being introduced to the youth cohort. I liked the moments most where students were able to share their knowledge, passion, interest and curiosity.


I really look forward to helping youth work on their projects, offering support, guidance, and info.


Kiran

I didn’t know what to expect not being a devoted gamer, but logging onto the zoom each morning to everyone’s smiles makes my day. I’m so looking forward to getting to know these amazing people and having the opportunity to share a creative space with each of them. This group has such unique things to offer each other-- you can feel it. I’m learning from them and thinking about things differently each day. Launching into game groups is going to be such a learning process for me and I’m so excited to see what we create ;`)


Mo

When joining this program I did not know what to expect. But the environment of kindness and maturity was bewildering. Some of my highlights for week one and week two would be the hard-core topics that we have looked over and the overall positivity. Like from talking in the chat to talking in breakout rooms I had never felt uncomfortable or miss treated one single time. In future weeks I hope to work with my group to make a killer game that will be fun and informative.


Sandra

I loved meeting all the youth!! They are so creative, kind, and so SO smart! I’m happy that the staff and youth can go through this journey together and learn with each other.


I look forward to the youth making their games and experimenting with the different softwares/programs. I’M SO EXCITED TO PLAY THE FINISHED GAMES :D I am also excited to get to know staff and youth even further through these future weeks.


Zarya

I mentioned at the beginning of the program that one of the biggest things that I was looking forward to was learning collectively. I knew that coming into a space full of justice-focused and intelligent people (both from the staff and youth) would mean so many spectacular opportunities to expand my world-view, perspectives, and grow. So far, I’ve already been surrounded by even more knowledge and creativity than I was expecting and I’m looking forward to seeing that grow as we shift from staff led sessions to the youth led game production.


William

I had a very good time learning and discussing various issues. I don’t have much else to say other than I have enjoyed the program so far.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Games for Justice 2021: Final Reflections (Week 7)

In our final week of Games for Justice 2021, our youth finished final touches on their games and demos, and presented them to family, friends, and community members. We also were able to take time at

Games for Justice 2021: Week 6 Reflections

In week 6, the youth revised their prototypes based on playtester and guest feedback. We also collectively scoped down our projects to prevent burnout and "crunch", and to make sure the focus of our g

Games for Justice 2021: Week 3, 4, 5 Reflections

Weeks 3, 4, and 5 was the beginning of our youth's time in project teams together. In these weeks, they developed their game concepts, pitched concept presentations to guest "critics", continued to id

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page